Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Welcome to Undertow Tanka Review, Issue 12

Undertow Tanka Review, Issue 12




Painting by Alberto Gironella,
Carmen




Ergodyne Bass
                               — somonka

jewel blue body
recurved fiberglass bow strung
with five slim cables
rich translucent sheen mirrors
me : guitar : face : guitar : me

fingers dig thunder
through the gut : fat neck lightning
low B the arrow
crackling groove stormcloud rumble
dragon glow : deep cave : dark bliss


―Vince Gotera




Body Music Matrix
                          — parallel haiku
                  á là Johannes S.H. Bjerg

rock strata
be-bop
                                mindanao
deep dark
wind scooped
fossil vertebrae
                                body cavities fluid
ocean floor
seashell
                                whoosh of
blood heartbeats


spark
psychedelic
                                angel wings slashing
vistas in the brain
flash doors
                                blue flame aura
phantom limbs
of perception
fuse
                                arias grace notes


―Vince Gotera







fragrant dusk
a frangipani bloom
falls


            ―Gavin Austin





lingering
in an exotic land
of make-believe…
I open my eyes
to familiar walls


―Gavin Austin






examining
my reflected image…
these wounds
I am now left to wear
battle-scars of this life


―Gavin Austin




Painting by Mario Carreño Morales,
Encuentro Junto al Mar



from the street you can――
hear them clicking and clacking—
spring window washers


―Barry George





was it music I heard
faintly from an alcove
of the closed casino...
or the boardwalk's
storm winds in the rain


―Barry George





cicadas...
for a moment there
deep silence


―W.R. Bongcaron





full moon
my long shadow
catches up


―W.R. Bongcaron




in bare red earth
where nothing grows
witches dance,
unholy furies screeching
from midnight to cockcrow


―Elizabeth Howard


Roberto Aizenberg





double vision--
genies in a gin bottle
one is fake



         ―Kyle Hemmings





guitar strings
cut my fingers
Joan of Arc
prays for me
in a soundproof room



―Kyle Hemmings



war museum
outside poppies
in bloom


        ―Rosa Clement



green tomatoes
on the window sill
when will you
open up
to me


―Randy Brooks





I try
to describe
her grandma’s face
wilted peonies
on the grave


―Randy Brooks








wide eyed wallflowers
clamor to glimpse his gold crown,
King Dandelion



―Kathleen A. Lawrence







Lovely and Dilapidated  - Parallel Haiku

The wind
whirled

                    He held
                    her hand

pulling her
his tether

                    like a boy
                    clutching

to her
heartstrings

                    a red
                    balloon


―Kathleen A. Lawrence








My Father  -  Somonka

Twirled ginger mustache
winking bright indigo eyes
and crooked smile curls
to rolling back white hairline
stroking hair with leathered hands

steps in polished bucks
peppered skin with wry freckles
polka-dot bow tie
strings loving heart together
booming voice grows gray and soft


―Kathleen A. Lawrence






back and forth
in line
for the roller coaster
seeing more or less
of her tattoo


―Randy Brooks





drinking fountain
I wait for the wasp
to finish


―Rosa Clement





late night storm
flashing through closed eyes
tomorrow is cleansed


―Bryan Marshall





midnight tryst –
bougainvilleas bend
with the breeze


―Theresa A. Cancro



tortoise shell –
all the things I never
told you


―Theresa A. Cancro





hint of dusk
we tiptoe through
your final hour


―Rachel Sutcliffe



high noon
the empty hammock
full of heat



―Rachel Sutcliffe


day long chill
finished her party food
alone




―Rachel Sutcliffe

Monday, July 17, 2017

Submissions are open for Issue 12 - until August 21st, will be published August 30th

Undertow Tanka Review is open to submissions for issue 12! Please send your very best tankas(up to 10) and haikus(up to 10) IN THE BODY OF AN EMAIL to ortsergio@gmail.com or undertowtanka@gmail.com . We don't publish tanka or haiku string or sequences. Submissions close August 21st and will be published August 30th.

Thursday, April 20, 2017

UNDERTOW TANKA REVIEW ISSUE 11




UNDERTOW TANKA REVIEW ISSUE 11






Painting by Remedios Varo









TANKA


Remedios Varo




tentacles wrap
tightly around her throat . . .
everything once
tucked safely inside her
quickly makes its escape


―Michael H. Lester





I dream of hidden
            rooms and secret doors, holding
all the lost things
            pets long departed live there
            among cluttered memories


―Deborah L. Davitt






one night the pavilion
of women disappears
as if a house of sand--
butterfly tent no longer needed
for another hundred years



―Alice Jennings






my body will shred
through atmospheres, into space
form constellations
with my gore and tongue licked clean
of censure, starlight, or you


―Megan Parker















HAIKU




Remedios Varo




cedilla her cough becomes a sough



―David J. Kelly








veiled sun
the arc
of her breast



―Basin Khan






cemetery gate
a firefly caught
in a cobweb



―Basin Khan





a dragonfly
ripples the lake
perigee moon



―Basin Khan





the edge
of a washed-up cliff
... daytime moon
           


―Basin Khan






bright sun deep inside lily's reflection



―Basin Khan




robin's nest -
a piece of sky snagged
in bramble



―Theresa A. Cancro






a ripening peach
whispers la madrugada
to the birds



―Theresa A. Cancro


            

Monday, March 20, 2017

Undertow Tanka Review Issue 11 is open for submissions until April 20th.



Undertow Tanka Review Issue 11 is open for submissions until April 20th. Send up to 10 of your very best Tanka and/or Haiku to undertowtanka@gmail.com. We tend to favor surreal and modern tanka and haiku.  Surreal art is also accepted.

Thursday, January 19, 2017

ISSUE 10 UNDERTOW TANKA REVIEW










Tanka



Rosario Varo



Undertow Tanka:  Review Issue 10




Dispatches - Somonka


In the end, if she
was not oblivious, my
mother’s saboteur
steeped her in dementia
making death more like a cure.

Dad hugged me at ten
when his mother died; then years,
my ire, and our pride
split us so that his passing
deterred us from another.


―Bill Cushing





Unable to stay
with the things I love in this,
the clear world of dew,
I await the world of mists
and prepare to enter it


― Evan Guilford-Blake




Dusk...
peddling home
faster,
following the light
I remember.



―Billy Howell-Sinnard




i've loved
several women--
the light
in all those windows
still burns



―Billy Howell-Sinnard





Blood stains...
pulling up thorns
and thistles
I close
my prayer book


― Billy Howell-Sinnard






a cat
stretching into a spot
of autumn sun...
finding possibilities
I thought I'd left behind


―Rebecca Drouilhet





the shapes of night
changing in autumn...
when clouds hide the moon
a gnarled oak
turns gargoyle


―Rebecca Drouilhet




Igor Morski

HAIKU




homosexuals
from dimmest light flowers bloom
bright secret colors


― Evan Guilford-Blake






on a bare bough
a cat meows
. . . crescent moon




―David He




northern wren
southern tui ~
September brings fall and spring



―Ingrid Bruck




black beetle shells
burnt sienna floor ~ 
all that's left of fall



―Ingrid Bruck



grocery store gossip
two women block the aisle
as the world turns



―Ingrid Bruck







filigree without lace
winter trees


―Steve Klepetar




solstice
darkness fills an empty cup


―Steve Klepetar




twenty-five below:
sun disc above the river, touching ice


―Steve Klepetar




message in code
crow’s tracks in snow


―Steve Klepetar

tossing seeds
over the fence--
flowers for Mexico



―Maggie Kennedy

Monday, January 2, 2017

Open for Submissions

Yes, we are Open for Submissions: for Issue 10 Send your very best modern Haiku and Tanka.
Art is also welcomed, they must be surreal. Send up to 10 haiku and/or tanka to undertowtanka@gmail.com


Sunday, December 11, 2016

UNDERTOW TANKA REVIEW ISSUE 9 December 2016

UNDERTOW TANKA REVIEW
ISSUE 9
December 2016
















HAIKU






Valle de la Luna
by
Remedios Varo
1950








suddenly more beautiful than the mountains - bike tied to a railing



my lost earring      her lost mind         my mom on the phone



what's lost        what's found     afternoon calm




          ―Miriam Sagan


























sneakers hanging  from a telephone wire -waning moon



black dot         in all that blue         caws



hypnagogic lights behind my eyelids - silence on Lama Mountain




―Miriam Sagan





















meadow grasses bent         in a question mark         I can answer



new chipmunks chase      each others' tails - I puzzle        out the poem



tattooed girl draws the mountain, her childhood         among rivers




          ―Miriam Sagan







sea-sky roars
in the curves of
whales


twilight stream
the first bend
on the star


night stalker
a hunger moon
follows me


crow moon
we follow our shadows
into the dusk



―Marth Magenta










dusk dims a notch, there
in the darkening mirror, the moon
enameled on the pond


sycamore tree, bark
peeling & patched like camouflage--
who you hiding from?


without looking up
he lay down a poem, her dress
dew-drenched still clung


full moon, tiny sparks
in fresh snow, the stick I step on
echoes somewhere else



―Roger W. Hecht












TANKA








 Alegoría del invierno
by
Remedios Varo
1948









they dragged me
to view the body
my sister
no longer larger
than her shortened life





that dream
I long to have again
the one
where I grew lamina
and my breath was fire





I find
white begonias
at my door
in pogonip fog
the vague shape of you




          ―Debbie Strange






lighting
his way
to the heavens ...
the candle beside
his portrait


―David He







hiding in clouds 
day moon mimics me 
night moon stalks me 
her penetrating radiance 
leaves me naked 



― Martha Magenta









.

Saturday, April 30, 2016

UNDERTOW TANKA REVIEW ISSUE 8 - May 2016

UNDERTOW TANKA REVIEW ISSUE 8





 painting by Joan Miro -  20 April 1893 – 25 December 1983





her glassy eyes
a glacier melting for ages
her face
furrowed with doubts
she cleans loose feathers all day

   Arunansu Bandyopadhyay  






scraps of lace
behind old windows
footfalls echo
we are bound by webs
of good intentions

   Debbie Strange










on the verge
of here and hereafter
surely we
are not the only ones
with revenant hearts

   Debbie Strange









silent secrets soak
your panties as they slip
below your thighs,
earthy-scented, ebbing
like a tidal pool at dawn


   Lee Todd Lacks







colors of dawn
shimmering on the lake...
out of darkness
the answers to questions
I never knew I had
                       
   Rebecca Drouilhet



under the palm tree
clusters of brown mushrooms
the yellow stir
of colored paper boats
afloat in moonlit puddle

   Precious Oboh







magically, I drift away
soaked in the music of each
drop of rain-
a tall elephant grass
did obeisance

   Precious Oboh







Three years in jail
everything changes, except
Mr. Noodles

   Wayne Ray







the waxing moon
slices through the horizon —
crescent earthshine


   Kim Peter Kovac







still no wind
this long winter
solitary bird


   Wayne Ray







who will remember
our sandcastle lives...
the winter sea


                                  
   Rebecca Drouilhet



last rites         
the yawning depth of night
seals over

   Devin Harrison


in half lotus
while on the train
my passing thoughts

   Devin Harrison



apartheid...
a zebra
licking only one stripe


   Virgil Babb










,

Tuesday, March 1, 2016

NEW GUIDELINES FOR UNDERTOW TANKA REVIEW

NEW GUIDELINES FOR UNDERTOW TANKA REVIEW



1. We will only be publishing 5 to 25 tanka, so send the very best. We're going to be very selective.
2. Please don’t send traditional 31 syllable tanka, they will be rejected.
3. We are looking for avant-garde, surreal, light-verse tanka poems.
4. We are also open to haiku, the same amount will be selected for publication, we prefer modern haiku, nothing traditional.
5. We are open to submissions year round, but will publish poems online three times a year starting May, 2016.
6. We no longer accept email submission.  Use Submittable.

Submission Windows

From Oct. 15 to Dec. 15 for Jan. issue
From Feb. 15 to Apr. 15 for May issue
From Jun. 15 to Aug. 15 for Sep. issue



ANNOUNCEMENT: We have a new assistant editor, Rajan Garg rajangarg.thapar@gmail.com

Use Submittable, that way we can create a Contributor's page.


Wednesday, September 9, 2015

Submissions for Issue 8 are now open

Submissions for Issue 8 are now open.  Submit your best Tanka (10) and Haiku (10)  by November 15.  This issue will be up on November 17 .

undertowtanka@gmail.com

Wednesday, September 2, 2015

Monday, July 13, 2015

First Yearly Tanka Competition

UNDERTOW REVIEW is now open for submissions, through August 30.  We will have our first yearly tanka competition   Theme is open.  Send your best tanka.


GUIDELINES: Entries that do not follow these guidelines may not be considered, so please read this information very carefully. Please email your submissions in English in the body of an email (only) directly to Undertow Tanka Review (undertowtanka@gmail.com), with the words " Undertow Contest " in the subject header, and include your name, country, and email address.

SUBMISSION PERIOD & DEADLINE:July Ist August 30th.

ELIGIBILITY: Open to the public.

AWARDS: First Place, Second Place, Third Place, and HM All places will receive Award Certificates. 

NO ENTRY FEE!: There is no limit to the number of entries per person. And there are no entry fees, the conest is free to enter. 

NOTIFICATION: The winners (only) will be notified. All entries will be published.

Saturday, May 2, 2015

SUBMISSION FOR UNDERTOW TANKA REVIEW: ISSUE # 6 ARE NOW OPEN

Due to unforeseen circumstances, Undertow Tanka Review was not able to function last month.  I had a heart attack, open heart surgery, and an infection which had me visiting the hospital for a month.  But we are once again able to accept submission for Tanka and Haiku for our forthcoming Issue # 6. 


We will be celebrating with this issue our first year of publication.  All submissions are due by June 28.  Please send in your best Tanka and Haiku poems.  The issue will be online by June 30th.

Thank you for your patience and support.

Sergio Ortiz,
Editor

Thursday, January 29, 2015

Submission for ISSUE # 5 UNDERTOW TANKA REVIEW ARE NOW OPEN!



Kindly submit up to 10 previously unpublished tanka, tanka art, &/or 10 tanka sequence, 10 haiku.

“Undertow Tanka Submission” to:

undertowtanka @ gmail . com

Or use Contact Form to the right



*** by MARCH 23, 2015 / 5th    Issue
to be online by MARCH 30, 2015


At the end of your submission, please include your full name and country of residence. All rights revert to authors upon publication. Your tanka must not be under consideration elsewhere or submitted to any contest. Hopefully this will become a print Review in the near future. We accept submissions year-round.  


*** Yes, we are accepting Haiku submissions


Best wishes,


Sergio Ortiz, Editor